The Spanish Steps of Dubrovnik
The Onofrio’s fountain and St Savior’s Church
Onofrior’s fountain is named after the architect who built it in the 15th century. It was commissioned to ensure that there will be an adequate supply of water for the city. The aqueduct that feeds the fountain is still in use today and serves as the town’s water supply and its quality rivals that of bottled water.
With beautiful columns and a mixture of Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque style, the current façade of the Rector’s Palace is a patchwork of repairs and additions throughout the medieval times as a result of damage due to gunpowder explosion, fires and earthquake. It was a defence building in the early Middle Ages, but became the seat of the Rector from 14th century to 1808.
Church of St Blaise
Cathedral of Dubrovnik
This gorgeous polished limestone street extends 300m through the old town and is the main street of Dubrovnik. It used to be a marshy channel that separated the settlement of Ragusa and Dubrava, it was eventually reclaimed in the 13th century and act as the main street of the city.
It runs east to west connecting the western Pile Gate and eastern Ploce Gate. It’s best to grab a Mojito from the snack store nearby and stroll down.And it’s exquisite at night:
The statue of St Blaise can been seen on top of the entrance.
The City walls